55+ Driver Safety Refresher Class
Participants will be able to attend class at the Senior Center or take as an online class at home. Please choose which location you will be participating in when registering.
If you're 55 or older, get a discount on your personal auto insurance and improve your driving skills! The Defensive Driving Course, developed by the National Safety Council, teaches basic crash prevention techniques and has a proven record of reducing traffic violations and incidents. It's taught by experienced, professional traffic safety instructors, including officers of the Minnesota State Patrol. The class consists of lecture, films and discussions. There is no behind-the-wheel driving and there are no tests.
According to Minnesota state law, people age 55 and older who complete a state-approved defensive driving course are eligible to receive a 10 percent, three-year discount on auto insurance. This includes in-person classroom, online training, and live virtual Zoom classes. After you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of completion to give to your insurance company.
NOTE: If you choose to take the class from home, you will need to visit the Senior Center to pick up the class booklet. The class link will be sent the day before the class.
Instructor: Minnesota Safety Council
Our Mission: To strengthen individuals, families and organizations by helping prevent injuries and support safer, healthier lives.
What We Do: The Minnesota Safety Council is a member-based, private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to preventing unintentional injuries - a leading cause of death, disability and economic loss. We offer traffic programs for the workplace and the larger community, including defensive driving classes for mature drivers and interactive online programs for teens. Since 1928, our sole focus has been to make Minnesota a safer and healthier place to live. The Minnesota Safety Council is a chapter of the National Safety Council.
Register Now, Pay Later: Due to the unpredictability of COVID-19, we are using a “Register Now, Pay Later” procedure. When you register for a class, the class total will come up at Zero dollars ($0). Your credit/debit card or checking account will be charged 3 days prior to the class start date. You will be notified if a class is canceled.